Three Campuses One School Exchange Program

NYC Gender Inequality

Four students in our grade went to New York City on 11th of April for a whole week attending the “Three Campuses One School” exchange program. It was quite fun meeting other students from the other two Leman campuses and we had a great learning experience together. The project we did was on the topic of “Gender Inequality”.

Day1
In the morning, the 12 students from three Leman campuses were sitting together in a meeting room. We shared our knowledge, experience and understanding of “Gender” and we did some research in groups on the present situation of gender inequality. It was truly great fun. Those kids were fantastic, especially Oleg, a seriously funny Russian guy. I extended my knowledge and understanding of “Gender”. For example, I learned what “LGBT” means, and I finally realized how serious these problems are in certain places in the world right now.

Activities
We visited an organization called “Girls for Gender Equity” (GGE) which mainly focused on helping people who are suffering from gender inequality. At their office, it was the first time I have been asked what pronoun I use. I realized that nowadays we are actually not paying enough attention to those people who are really suffering from being discriminated because of their genders.

Presentation
We produced a prezi presentation on the topic of “Gender Inequality”. I did the education part. I did some research on the Internet and I found out that the inequality in education between male and female in Middle East was quite serious. There are more information on this website:
uis.unesco.org/Education/Pages/mind-the-gap.aspx

We also produced a video together at the end of the week about what we have done and what we have learned form it. If you are interested, please have a look~. The link is over here:

One Response

  1. Mrs T at |

    Hi King
    Thanks for this update. I’m curious as to why there are no entries for Days 2, 3 and 4, though! The visit to Girls for Gender Equity was actually on Day 2. Perhaps you could do a follow-up piece, with some more details.
    Thanks,
    Mrs T

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar